Historical Fiction Books For Men

Historical Fiction Books for Men

No time traveling romance, no love triangles (not that there’s anything wrong with those. In fact, I love them!)- But this is a list of historical fiction books for men to enjoy!

Historical Fiction Books for Men

Although men love history, I often find historical fiction considered to be a genre that geared towards women. I think with the popularity of Outlander, Regency romances etc, men are associating it as a romance genre. However, there are TONS of historical fiction books for men! Here is a list to try!


Historical Fiction Books for Men

The Alienist by Caleb Carr

This is one of my favorites! With a four-star rating on Goodreads and over 165,000 reviews, you can trust this is a great read. Actually, anything by Caleb Carr is, in my opinion. But, if you’re looking for an old- school psychological thriller with a creepy vibe (basically follows the first recognized American serial killer)- you NEED to check out this book! There’s an accompanying TV series as well that is also very well done.


Cloud Cuckoo Land by Anthony Doerr

For fans of All the Light We Cannot See, Anthony Doerr has a new book out! Cloud Cuckoo Land takes on the tapestry of time. Split into three perspectives woven together, Doerr spans time from ancient Constantinople through living in the future in space. (Rest assured, it is not sci/fi though).

Once again, “Doerr’s dazzling imagination transports us to worlds so dramatic and immersive that we forget, for a time, our own. Dedicated to ‘the librarians then, now, and in the years to come,’ Cloud Cuckoo Land is a beautiful and redemptive novel about stewardship–of the book, of the Earth, of the human heart.”


Historical Fiction Books for Men

The Lincoln Highway by Amor Towles

You might know Amor Towles from his runaway hit- A Gentleman in Moscow. If you haven’t read that one yet, that’s another one you need to check out!

The Lincoln Highway came out in 2021 and has been another major hit. It takes place in 1950s America and is told from multiple perspectives. It’s a road trip type story that spans ten days and examines responsibility vs the wild ride of adventure.


The Evening and the Morning by Ken Follett

Have you tried the Kingsbridge series yet by Ken Follett? Set in Middle Age England, it is addictive!

The Evening and the Morning kicks off in 997 CE, the end of the Dark Ages. England is facing attacks from the Welsh in the west and the Vikings in the east. Those in power bend justice according to their will, regardless of ordinary people and often in conflict with the king. Without a clear rule of law, chaos reigns.

In these turbulent times, three characters find their lives intertwined.

Thirty years ago, Ken Follett published his most popular novel, The Pillars of the Earth. Follett’s prequel, The Evening and the Morning takes us on an epic journey into a historical past rich with ambition and rivalry, death and birth, love and hate, that will end where The Pillars of the Earth begins.


Hope you enjoy these Historical Fiction Books for Men- if you have other suggestions for me to add- please reach out and let me know! I’m ALWAYS open to book recommendations. 🙂

For more of Joyana’s Book Lists- check out her Book List page!

Leave a Reply